Obsessed with Raw Summer Soups

I haven’t blogged for a while, mainly because I’ve been very busy but also because my habits, values and interests have steered me away from desserts. I’ve been enjoying a lot of wonderful salads and my usual green smoothies. However, I’ve got a new culinary interest and it’s about time I started to record my creations.

Raw Soups have been rocking my world lately. It all started with Raw Gazpacho, but this week I’ve been experimenting with wonderful results. I love my Vitamix!

This year, I’ve also started some gardening for the first time. I’ve been growing loads of beautiful kale, 3 kinds of tomatoes, lots of fragrant basil and cilantro. It’s so great to pick these and add them straight in to my soup.

Raw Gazpacho

  • Tomatoes, about 3 medium sized
  • Zucchini, one or two small ones.
  • Celery, 1 or 2 stalks
  • Loads of fresh basil
  • 2 or 3 cloves of garlic
  • Raw Saurkraut, a third of a cup
  • Red Onion, or green onion depending
  • Avocado, optional but creamy and delicious
  • A drizzle of Rallis ice pressed olive oil (my favourite)
  • Sea salt sprinkled on top

Yesterday I made a similar soup but with cilantro instead of basil and I added some fresh ginger and a little coconut. Very yummy.

Raw Ginger Beet Soup

  • 1/2 BeetIMG_00000179
  • 1 Carrot
  • 1 Celery Stalk
  • .33 coconut milk (I just used light canned coconut milk which isn’t actually raw but I don’t feel like cracking a coconut)
  • small piece of ginger
  • drizzle Honey Ginger infused White Balsamic (optional)
  • sprigs of cilantro for garnish (optional)
  • avocado cubes to swim in the soup (optional)
  • sea salt (optional)

IMG_00000186Raw Corn & Pepper Soup

  • fresh kernels from 2 ears of corn
  • 2 small orange peppers
  • 6 yellow tomatoes
  • 2 tbsp red onion
  • 1 ripe peach
  • 1 small piece of ginger
  • 1/4 tsp organic miso
  • touch of white balsamic vinegar (optional)
  • touch of hot sauce

 

This version of the soup includes coconut milk, a zucchini and some hot pepper.

This version of the Corn & Pepper soup includes coconut milk, a zucchini and some hot pepper.

Example of a Raw Summer Vegetable Soup

  • 1 Medium Tomato
  • 1 Medium Zucchini
  • Aprox. 1 cup of the red stalks from Swiss Chard
  • 1/2 Medium Beet
  • 1 Small Carrot
  • 1 Celery Stalk
  • 1 Clove of Garlic
  • Aprox. 1/4 cup of Red Onion
  • 1/2 small Avocado
  • Bunch of Basil
  • Drizzle of infused White Balsamic (something else sour would do the trick)
  • A drizzle of Rallis ice pressed olive oil (my favourite)
  • Sea Salt sprinkled on top
One thought on “Obsessed with Raw Summer Soups

  1. Hi Mandi!

    Your blog has caught our attention because of the quality of the recipes. We would be delighted if you would join us at http://www.mytaste.com/ so that we could link to it.

    myTaste.com is a search engine that compiles the best American cooking sites and blogs from the Internet. Several hundred blogs are already enrolled here and are taking benefit from the traffic we are sending to their sites.

    To join myTaste, just go to http://www.mytaste.com/add-your-food-blog

    Best regards,
    Martina
    MyTaste.com

Leave a Reply

