Who’s Kale?

who's kale

The Kale Recipe everyone’s talking about – Who’s Kale? 

  • 1 bunch raw kale, washed, de-stemmed and dried
  • 2 Tablespoons tahini
  • 2 Tablespoons apple cider vinegar
  • 2 Tablespoons lemon juice (I like a little less, like 1 tbsp, or just more apple cider vinegar)
  • 2 Tablespoons coconut aminos (originally called for Bragg’s liquid aminos, or tamari or soy sauce would work, or just add salt to taste)
  • 4 Tablespoons nutritional yeast (I generally use a lot more – yum!)
  • 2 teaspoons minced garlic (1 – 2 cloves of garlic, when I’m lazy I use garlic powder

Optional:

  • .5+ teaspoon of dijon mustard
  • sesame seeds, to taste as garish (optional)
  1. Break or cut kale into bite size pieces and place in a large bowl.
  2. Puree all ingredients except kale and sesame seeds in a blender or food processor to blend the dressing.
  3. Pour dressing over kale and massage into the kale with your hands until all pieces of kale are coated.
  4. Let the salad sit in the fridge for an hour or so to marinate. You can skip this step if you need to eat right away, but allowing some time to marinate will wilt the kale a bit and make it a little more palatable – particularly for those who are skeptical of eating raw kale.
  5. Sprinkle on some sesame seeds before serving if so desired.

Credit to the original internet source: http://www.eatingbirdfood.com/2011/02/garlicky-kale/

***

Last Sunday was Niagara VegFest. Among many other great purchases, I picked up a couple of I “heart” kale buttons and a bag. 2 days later, I was riding the subway in Toronto late at night and a guy asked me, “Who’s Kale?” which has now become the running joke.

So how do I eat all this kale?

I already loved Kale Chips, but it was the Garlicky Kale from Whole Foods is the recipe that started my real love affair with kale.

  • Kale Chips
  • Garlicky Kale from Whole Foods
  • Kale salads of all sorts are delicious. Make sure to massage the dressing into the washed, de-stemmed kale so that it really softens and marinates.
  • In juice: I keep the kale stems and use them for juicing. One of my favourite combinations is kale with pear. Kale + pear are a wonderful pair!
  • In smoothies: Since I eat so much kale at other times of the day, I tend to favour spinach in my morning smoothies, but kale often makes an appearance too.
  • When I’m on the go in Toronto, I seek out kale salads from restaurants like:I heart kale
  1. Freshii 
  2. Fresh
  3. Urban Herbivore
  4. Vegetarian Haven

Some people only think of kale as a cooked food but I really prefer it raw. Eating it raw has completely changed my view of this super green, and I really find it much more satisfying than other lettuces or baby spinach for salads.

Wikipedia has this to say about kale:

Kale or borecole (Brassica oleracea Acephala Group) is a vegetable with green or purple leaves, in which the central leaves do not form a head. It is considered to be closer to wild cabbagethan most domesticated forms. The species Brassica oleracea contains a wide array of vegetables, including broccolicauliflowercollard greens, and brussels sprouts. The cultivar groupAcephala also includes spring greens and collard greens, which are extremely similar genetically.

Want to know more about the various varieties of kale? Check out ilovekale.com.

 

 

Leave a Reply

