Fun with Kelp Noodles

kelp with hazelnutI’ve been on a big kelp noodle kick for the past while. My favourite thing to do is to soak the kelp noodles for at least 20 minutes in water, give them a good rinse, and then marinate them in a seed or nut based sauce until they become soft. Really yummy.

One of the recipes that I really enjoy for kelp noodles is a Thai Peanut Sauce. However, peanuts (at least not the ones used in those types of recipes) are not raw and not particularly good for you, so I’ve been playing with replacing them with other nuts. This weekend I made a sauce with hazelnuts for 2 different potlucks and it turned out quite well.

Other times, I’ll use my favourite Garlicky Kale dressing or something similar, or I’ll even use a pre-made pesto.

For a Thai inspired sauce, I use the following ingredients. You have to just play with them to get the flavour that you want:

  • Natural Peanut Butter or some other type of nuts (like hazelnuts) soaked and rinsed before using
  • Water
  • Lime juice
  • Ginger
  • Garlic
  • Chilis or a hot sauce like Sriracha
  • Coconut Aminos, Tamari, Miso or salt for seasoning
  • Agave for sweetness (or another sweetener)
  • Cilantro or mint, and lots of it!

I like this kind of sauce with zucchini noodles too, and lately I’ve been mixing the zucchini noodles in with the kelp noodles. Just don’t add the zucchini until the end since it can produce too much water.

One thought on “Fun with Kelp Noodles

Leave a Reply

