Making your own raw vegan milk, Part II

Ingredients: raw nut butter of choice (I’ve used one of my favourite Health Nut flavours but any raw nut butter will do) and sunflower lecithin.

Frothy after being shaken up.

A fine strainer.

Strain your milk.

Before leaving for Sweden, I prepared some very portable vegan oat milk powder to take away with me.

That worked out really well, and I enjoyed it very much in my morning smoothies.

Now that I’m back in town, I’ve decided to go raw for the month of August in honour of Rawstock Niagara, an exciting festival that I’m helping to organize that takes place at the end of this month. As usual, I want to keep things quick, easy and not too messy. I dislike cleaning nut milk bags (a lot) and don’t feel like washing my blender all the time so this quick shake and strain raw almond milk is perfect.

Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsp raw nut butter of choice
  • 2 tsp sunflower lecithin*
  • 1/4 tsp xanthum gum (optional)
  • pinch of cinnamon, vanilla, stevia, or other flavourings to taste
  • 4 cups of water (you might be able to use up to 5 cups, actually, but definitely 4)
  1. Put your ingredients into a container with a lid and shake away!
  2. Strain through a fine strainer.
  3. Enjoy! Keeps about 4 to 5 days.
  4. You can actually save the pulp and use it as the base for your next batch mixed with about a third to half of the proportions of listed above.

*The lecithin is very important. It’s an emulsifier and prevents the ingredients from separating in the liquid. It makes it creamy and a true milk. I prefer sunflower lecithin to soy which I’m intolerant to. The xanthum gum helps to thicken it up as well.

I’m enjoying this very much in my morning smoothies and I’m turning my husband on to it too. Go raw!

One thought on “Making your own raw vegan milk, Part II

  1. Pingback: Quick & Easy Vegan Oat Milk in a Bodum | Mandi's Alternative Baking Blog

Leave a Reply

