Raw Vegan Banana Coconut Cream Pie

Busy weekend coming up! Last weekend was the Frankie Tribute Weekend in Toronto which was a huge success but kicked my butt. I’m the primary organizer for the event and it was the culmination of months of work. Exhausting but completely worth it.

I was feeling under the weather last week and unfortunately had 7 days of laryngitis which carried right through the big weekend. I’ve also had some trouble with my eyes so I haven’t been able to wear my contact lenses lately. Time for another juice feast!

No rest for the wicked! Tomorrow is Niagara VegFest which will be a big weekend for my Health Nut products, followed by the Toronto Raw Vegan Festival next weekend which is even bigger! I’ve got 400 cheese (yes 400!) aging in a special fridge and about two dozen cases of nut butter ready to go. We’re also making some raw vegan cheese skewers with grapes for people to try.

Busy busy. But I can’t neglect this Sunday’s Conscious Eating Niagara potluck! Doug McNish will be coming along and very thoughtfully my friend Karen just gave me a copy of his new cookbook, Eat Raw, Eat Well, so I can have it signed.

Somehow I managed to have a bit of free time today to make my potluck item. I decided to whip something up using ingredients I already had at home. The result is an absolutely delicious Banana Coconut Cream Pie. I love my plain Coconut Cream Pie recipe too, but this is a nice alternative. The real vanilla bean really brings out the vanilla flavour. Delicious!

Banana Coconut Cream Pie

Ingredients
  • 6 cups coconut flakes, unsweetened
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil
  • 4 ripe bananas
  • 1/4 tsp real vanilla bean powder – the best part, artificial vanilla wouldn’t be the same in this recipe
  • 1 tiny scoop of NOW stevia, about 1/8 of a tsp (***WARNING: some stevia is gross, this is the only brand I’ve tried that I would recommend)
  • teensy pinch of pink Himalayan salt
Directions
  1. Blend the coconut flakes and coconut oil in the food processor to make coconut butter. Scrape the sides frequently and be patient. It takes a while6 cups of dried, unsweetened coconut flakes
  2. Add the bananas and blend some more.
  3. Add the rest of the ingredients and adjust to taste.
  4. Pour the filling into your crust of choice and set in the freezer for at least an hour to set.

For my crust this time around, I used pecans, dates and because I was low on dates a few prunes too. I also through in some cinnamon ’cause I felt like it. You can read more about raw vegan pie crusts here.

Chachi & Mandi Gould

Point & Curl with Chachi at the 2012 Frankie Tribute Weekend.

3 thoughts on “Raw Vegan Banana Coconut Cream Pie

  1. Wow, this looks amazing! I sure need to try this one! You have a beautiful blog. Thanks for sharing those lovely recipes.

Leave a Reply

