Raw Spice Cookies

On Sunday I went to an amazing raw vegan dinner party. Our hosts, Toni and Paul, are high raw and they really know what they’re doing. Toni made a phenomenal dinner. My friend, Lee, took a lot of photos so I’ll post some once she’s got them available.

I decided to make a little something to contribute to the dinner but didn’t want to do one of my big desserts since I knew that Toni would have planned something. I decided to make some cookies… with a secret ingredient!

A lot of the raw cuisine is very dense in calories and fat. Good fat, but still too much of it when you’re looking at all the nuts and seeds in your regular meal plus dessert on top of it. So I’ve been looking for fruit and veggies that can hide in desserts and help to bulk them up in a lower calorie way.

My secret ingredient for the spiced cookies… parsnips! I love parsnips! They have a nice carrot like quality to them but also a flavour all of their own that is a bit sweet and a bit spicy. Perfect for a spiced cookie.

Equipment:

  • Food Processor
  • Dehydrator (you don’t need a dehydrator for every recipe, but it helps for cookies. Otherwise, put your oven on the lowest temperature and leave the oven door cracked open.)

Rough Ingredients:

  • 6 or 7 parsnips, shredded
  • 1 cup of dates
  • 1 cup of sunflower seeds or other nuts of seeds of choice
  • 1/2 tablespoon+ of cinnamon
  • 1/2 tablespoon+ of ground ginger
  • cardamom to taste
  • pinch of Himalayan salt
Directions:
  1. If you have a setting for it on your food processor, start by shredding your parsnips. Remove shredded parsnip from the food processor to a bowl and set aside.
  2. Blend seeds until it starts to form a thick paste.
  3. Add dates & blitz.
  4. Add spices & blitz
  5. Add shredded parsnip & blitz.
  6. Spoon cookie dough on to dehydrator sheets. An ice cream scoop works really well. Mash down with fork.
  7. Dehydrate at 105 degrees for 6 to 12 hours.

I really like these. They’re a nice lower calorie raw treat than some others, and I like the chewy texture. I’m sure they’d work well with carrot too. I’ll make them again, and hopefully I’ll have some more photos soon.

Leave a Reply

