Sticky Gingerbread Loaf – updated – vegan, gluten-free, sugar-free

This post was originally from December 18th, 2010, but I’ve updated the recipe instructions today for clarity.

***

Paired with Elana's delicious vegan coconut cream frosting.

You can make this recipe as a loaf, a cake, muffins, cupcakes, whatever. I call it “new fashioned” gingerbread since it’s now sugar-free, gluten-free, vegan.

There’s a bakery in Toronto that makes a wonderful sticky gingerbread loaf.  Of all the tasty treats that they make, it’s this sliced gingerbread loaf that draws me back time and time again. It’s moist, spicey and delicious. Though many people consider this to be a seasonal holiday treat, this is one of my favourite kinds of indulgences year round. There’s something about the warm spices that draws me in. Not surprisingly, I have a similar obsession with all things pumpkin.

Of course, I don’t need that kind of sugar in my diet, so through much experimenting I’ve come up with a fabulous alternative version. And once I got to my R&D work, I figured why not make it friendly for my gluten-free and vegan friends while I was at it?

In the past, when I make gingersnaps I’m always pushing the boundaries of how spicey I can make them. I like a good bite of ginger to my gingery treats. None of this single teaspoon business for me. If there’s ginger in the recipe title, then I want the ginger to jump out and really hit me. This recipe delivers just that.

FLOUR

Alternatives to the alternative: I’ve experimented a lot with this recipe. If you’re not vegan and would prefer you can use 2 organic eggs in place of the flax and water combination. If you don’t follow a gluten-free diet, 2.5 cups of whole wheat flour works just fine, or 1.25 cups of spelt + 1.5 cups of amaranth flour also works nicely. You could even use honey instead of agave. This recipe is also tasty with a few fresh or thawed cranberries thrown in, or raisins are also nice.

New Fashioned Gingerbread Cake!

Baked as muffins with cranberries.

  • 2.5 cups of blended gluten free flours – my gf preference:
  1. 1 cup amaranth flour
  2. 1 cup buckwheat flour
  3. .5 cup sweet rice flour
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • .5 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon
  • 1.5 tbsp ground ginger
  • 1 tsp cloves
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • .5 tsp salt

Topped here with a yacon syrup marinated ginger glaze and some of the ginger slices for a hippie garnish.

Wet Ingredients:

  • .75 cup agave
  • .5 cup oil (grapeseed or organic non-GMO canola)
  • .75 cup molasses (I use blackstrap for a more robust flavour)
  • 2 tbsp flax mixed with 6 tbsp of water*
  • 2 tsp fresh ground ginger
  • 1+ tsp lemon zest (optional)
  • 1 cup of boiling water
  1. Combine dry ingredients.
  2. In a separate bowl combine wet ingredients except for the boiling water.
  3. Make a well in dry ingredients and add the wet ingredients. Do not over mix. Gradually add the boiling water.
  4. Bake at 350 35 to 40 minutes. Makes 2 loaves, one 9X13 cake or 24 muffins.

Yields aprox. 24 small servings.

Icing or Glaze Options

This gingerbread is really good. I served it at several parties this holiday season and I’ll be I’ll be making it again for Christmas Eve and pairing it with this icing which is vegan and fantastic: http://www.elanaspantry.com/coconut-cream-frosting/

Vegan gluten-free sugar-free gingerbread

Loaf on the left was made with spelt and amaranth, cake on the right with all gluten-free flours.

I also like to shred some fresh ginger and marinate it in agave or yacon syrup and then brush the gingerbread with it like a glaze.

So if you’re looking for a great gingerbread loaf or gingerbread cake recipe, look no further! And better yet, if you’re looking for a vegan gingerbread cake recipe, or a gluten-free gingerbread loaf recipe, or a sugar-free gingerbread recipe, well aren’t you just lucky that it’s all rolled in to one? Whether your baking for the holidays or Christmas baking is months away, try this recipe. Seriously – Yum!

One thought on “Sticky Gingerbread Loaf – updated – vegan, gluten-free, sugar-free

  1. Pingback: Kitchen Renovation & Allergy Testing Update « Mandi's Alternative Baking Blog

Leave a Reply

