Raw Lemon Cheesecake

I’ve now tried the raw cheesecake at Rawlicious several times and it’s been fantastic every single time… though slightly frozen on two occasions. Raw cheesecake does require time in the freezer to help it to set but it’s much more delicious when allowed to come back down to a regular temperature in the fridge.

raw vegan cheesecakeI used this recipe as a framework for my first attempt.

I have a small spring form pan that I find handy for just Geoff and I and up to two other people, so I reduced the recipe to fit the smaller pan. I also adjusted to my own tastes.

My interpretation of “Just Like Cheesecake” from Emily Lee Angell.

***Please note that my variations are to make a small version of the cake. To make a regular sized cake, please follow the original recipe and if you’d like to add the lemon curd, use my recipe for that X 4.

You will need:

  1. Spring Form Pan (very small, or use the original recipe for a regular sized pan)
  2. Food processor

 

Crust:
1 cups raw almonds
.25 cup dates, pitted
2 tbsp dried coconut

Cheese:
2 cups chopped cashews, soaked for at least 1 hour
1/2 cup lemon juice
1/2 cup honey (for vegan use light agave)
6 tbsp coconut oil
2 tbsp coconut butter* (dried unsweetened coconut liquified in the food processor)
.5 teaspoon vanilla (I use raw organic, alcohol free)
dash of sea salt (optional)
dash of lemon extract (optional)

Lemon Curd:
juice of 1 lemon
4 tbsp coconut butter (dried unsweetened coconut liquified in the food processor)
agave to taste, about 2 tbsp (I like it tart)
dash of sea salt
lemon extract (optional)

Topping:
Fresh raspberries
Lemon zest

Directions:

  1. To make the crust, process the macadamia nuts and dates in the food processor. Sprinkle dried coconut onto the bottom of an 8 or 9 inch springform pan (found in Target). Press crust onto the coconut. This will prevent it from sticking.
  2. To make the cheese, blend the cashews, lemon, honey/agave, room temperature coconut oil, vanilla, sea salt and lemon extract (if using). Blend until smooth and adjust to taste. Pour the mixture onto the crust. Remove air bubbles by tapping the pan on a table. Place in the freezer until firm. Remove the whole cake from the pan while frozen and place on a serving platter. Defrost in the refrigerator.
  3. To make the lemon curd, first use a zester and reserve the lemon zest from the lemon to sprinkle on top of the cake later. Combine lemon, coconut butter, agave, salt, lemon extract in the food processor. It’s difficult to get it to come out completely smoothly, but it’s tart and delicious! Spread over the top of the cake.
  4. Top with fresh raspberries and lemon zest.

*I had added the coconut butter to help thicken the cheese since it was going to sit in the car for a while before serving it at his mother’s place. Next time, if I plan to serve it directly from the fridge, I could skip the coconut butter and just use 2 more tablespoons of coconut oil as the original recipe suggested. However, for a portable option, the coconut butter was the way to go. It came out of the spring form pan easily and wasn’t too delicate to slice.

Well I think that this came out pretty darn deliciously for a first attempt. I served it to Geoff as an early birthday cake and to his mother as well and they both really enjoyed it. Sugar-free, vegan, gluten-free… where has this recipe been all my life!? I guess I just hadn’t known where to look.

Raw vegan cheesecake for the win!

14 thoughts on “Raw Lemon Cheesecake

    • Hey Maria, I’m sure you’ll love it! As I mentioned to Rachel, if you don’t have a very small spring form pan it would be better to follow the original recipe for proper proportions. Next time I’ll try chocolate.

  1. Mandi, it is absolutely beautiful and I would imagine it tastes as good as it looks and to think you got to share it with your mil. That is wonderful.

  2. Umm … a cheesecake without cheese. I may have to try this. It looks beautiful, too! You can put this on the cover of a cooking magazine.

  3. Pingback: Best Raw Vegan Desserts! Raw Vegan Dessert Recipes « Mandi's Alternative Baking Blog

  4. the recipe asks for almonds, and the methods indicates macadamias, i figure both would work, I am more curious if im missing something

    • The crust can work with any kind of nut. I favour almonds or walnuts for crusts. For the filling, I like to use cashews, though macadamias would work beautifully I’m sure.

  5. Pingback: does lemon cheesecake originate | lemoncheesecake.net

Leave a Reply

