Sugar-Free Healthy Banana Bread with Coconut Flour

Now that I’ve got my new kitchen, I’ve been on a coconut flour kick as well as a banana kick. There just seems to be a general banana bread buzz going around, so I thought I’d flex my baking muscles and tweak a new recipe.

I’m starting to accept the fact that a 100% coconut flour recipe does need a lot of eggs. I was hoping to figure out a recipe that would use only coconut flour and could remain vegan, but it seems like that just isn’t going to work. I think that coconut flour is probably best when combined with other flours, otherwise after a lot of research it really does seem like a minimum of 4 eggs is needed. I even did some experimenting of my own on Tuesday to see if I could disprove the egg:coconut flour ratio but the attempts were failures. So some egg + a flour blend seems to be the winning balance.

This recipe makes what I like to call a good “breakfast loaf” – it’s not a cake loaf like some banana breads are, but it’s tasty and wholesome and nice plain or maybe with a bit of butter, nut butter or coconut butter if you’re feeling indulgent.
Banana Bread with Coconut Flour
Ingredients:
3 large or 4 small bananas, mashed
2 eggs
3 tbsp of oil (coconut oil is ideal)
1 tsp vanilla extract
.5 cup xylitol
.75 cup milk (I used unsweetened almond milk)
1 cup whole wheat flour (pastry/soft)
.5 cup barley flour (or another .5 cup of whole wheat)
.5 cup coconut flour, sifted
2 tbsp ground flax
2 tbsp ground chia/salba (optional)
2 tsp baking powder
.75 tsp baking soda
2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp nutmeg

Separately combine all wet ingredients in one bowl and all dry ingredients in another. Then add wet to dry and blend, do not over mix. Bake 350 for aproximately 55 to 60 minutes. Makes 1 loaf, 12 servings.

I really liked this recipe, particularly the next day. It wasn’t too sweet, which I like. A nice breakfast loaf. It was definitely beter once it had cooled than when it was warm, though it was still good and my husband gave it a thumbs up.

Coconut Flour Banana Bread - sugar-free recipe

Leave a Reply

