Coconut Flour Banana Bread Muffins – recipe comparison

Our kitchen reno is almost finished! Amazing! I came home last night from 2 days in the city to find that my husband had put in the counters and the knobs on all the cupboards. All that’s left to do is a final paint job and the back splash.

What better way to break in the new kitchen then with a Coconut Flour Banana Bread challenge?

Click here to see a great Vegan Banana Bread muffin recipe. It’s really good, just not made with coconut flour so I gave it a different page.

My sister is coming over this Saturday and she follows a gluten-free diet. I’ve been pretty fascinated by coconut flour lately and I wanted to try recipes that would use bananas both for flavour and for binding. I decided to compare two recipes; one with eggs and one that is completely vegan.

Usually recipes with coconut flour are VERY eggy. Too eggy. I don’t mind a couple of eggs in a recipe but 6 to a dozen? Is that *really* necessary?

The first recipe:

Egg Version

  • 4 eggs
  • 2 bananas, mashed
  • .25 cup coconut oil, melted
  • 3 tbsp coconut milk (or other milk)
  • 1 tbsp agave
  • .5 tsp salt
  • .25 tsp baking soda
  • .75 cup coconut flour
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • .5 tsp nutmeg

Blend all wet ingredients. Sift coconut flour – it’s very prone to clumping. Combine dry ingredients, then blend with wet.

Bake at 350 for aproximately 22 minutes. Makes 10 muffins.

Review: This is a good, easy recipe. If you’re looking for a quick, easy gluten-free recipe this would be it. I think that a bit more agave would add to this though, or some raisins, chopped dates, or chocolate chips. They’re good but fall just a little bit on the unexciting side. Also, the texture of the muffins comes out a tiny bit too dense for my liking. Kind of like some almond flour recipes. If you compare this to some coconut flour recipes it wasn’t super eggy but 4 eggs is still a lot compared to the usual 1 or 2 eggs in a regular muffin recipe. The presence of the eggs is apparent; the next time I make these I’m going to try to add an additional banana and one fewer egg.

*********

The second recipe:

Vegan Version

  • .5 cup coconut flour
  • .25 cup amaranth flour*
  • .25 cup light buckwheat flour*
  • .33 cup xylitol
  • .25 tsp salt
  • .33 tsp baking soda
  • .25 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 bananas, mashed
  • .5 cup coconut milk (or other milk)
  • .33 cup coconut oil, melted
  • 2 tbsp ground flax or ground chia (or 1 of each)

*Amaranth and light buckwheat are my favourite gluten-free combination for flour, however if you’re not concerned about gluten you could use spelt, kamut or whole wheat in place of either or both of these.

Blend all wet ingredients. Add flax and/or chia to wet ingredients. Sift coconut flour and blend all dry ingredients. Combine wet with dry.

Bake 350 for approximately 25 minutes.

Review: At first glance, this recipe appears to make a more classic muffin. It definitely holds together without any problems, despite the lack of eggs. WARNING: this recipe must be left to cool completely! The flavour and texture need time to settle and if you eat it when it’s still warm, you’ll find it to be mushy and strongly flavoured of buckwheat. This mellows completely by the time it cools and is very good, but not at all as yummy if you taste it too soon. That said, I also like the extra sweetness from the xylitol. 

Verdict: In my opinion, the vegan version wins! Of course, I did like the idea of using only one kind of flour in the first recipe, but I prefer the blend in the 2nd recipe. I’m a fan of the combination of coconut flour/amaranth flour/light buckwheat flour in general for gluten-free baking. I’ll do a taste test with my husband later on and see which he prefers. Here’s a photo comparison of the 2 coconut flour banana bread muffins:

7 thoughts on “Coconut Flour Banana Bread Muffins – recipe comparison

  1. Geoff’s handy work is excellent. What a blessing! And your recipe sounds delicious. 🙂
    Thanks for the link to this site. I will favorite it. I am so glad to be able to keep up with all that you are doing. Internet does seem to shrink our world doesn’t it?

    Love you,
    Paulette

  2. YUM!!! I love the look/sound of those vegan muffins! I have some coconut flour in my pantry that I bought on a whim & it hasn’t gotten much play… This recipe looks like the perfect use for it! 🙂

    • I’m sure you’ll like it! Most coconut flour recipes seem so full of eggs and I was sure that banana would work just fine as a binder and I was right, hurray! Since you’re not concerned about the gluten factor, you could use any type of flour with the coconut flour. I did amaranth-buckwheat for my gf-free sister but another type of flour will work; I think I’ll try kamut or barley flour next time.

  3. Pingback: Banana coconut muffins « The Full Life

  4. I tried making the non-vegan type and LOVED them! I tweaked the recipe a little, trying your suggestion of using 3 bananas and 3 eggs and found they weren’t too eggy at all…I also substituted coconut nectar for the agave…i then added some organic cacao chips for a little treat…the result was delicious 🙂 thank you!

    • So glad it worked out! I’m all about tweaking as I go too so I’m glad you were able to adapt them to make it your own way. And I love coconut nectar. That’s my new go-to.

Leave a Reply

