Amazing Low Calorie, Sugar Free, Dairy Free Pumpkin Pie!

Today I’ve embarked on a very important voyage; the quest to find the best low calorie pumpkin pie recipe around.

As many of you know, I love pumpkin pie. At Thanksgiving, I made 2 regular full-fat pumpkin pies and they were delicious, but it got me thinking that I’d like to find a guilt-free way to enjoy pumpkin pie more often.

After extensive research, I settled on a recipe that uses xylitol in place of sugar, egg beaters/whites instead of whole eggs, and especially a lighter substitute for cream which would preferably be dairy free, and the recipe uses some corn starch to help thicken the filling.

I made 3 variations:

1. Almond milk – ringing in crustless at 87 calories per serving (I’m sure that unsweetened soy or hemp milk would also be good)
2. 1% Yogurt – ringing in crustless at 97 calories per serving
3. Fat Free Evaporated Milk – ringing in crustless at 112 calories per serving.

The dark one in the photo with the almond on top was the winner.

Compare all of these to the traditional recipe using cream which rings in crustless at 213 calories per serving, and that’s with xylitol not sugar so with sugar it would be higher still.

All 3 variations are a huge improvement on the original, but of course I was routing for the almond milk variation.

The test:

I baked all 3 variations in ramekins and tested them on my husband.

The result:

I have to say that #2 wasn’t good at all, though worth a shot. The yogurt was too sour. The other two were both quite good but the CLEAR winner was the almond milk! Hurray!!!!

The winning recipe:

Amazing Low Calorie, Sugar Free, Dairy Free Pumpkin Pie!

1.25 cups unsweetened almond milk (I’m sure that you could use unsweetened soy, hemp or rice milk)
1.875 cups/15 oz. pumpkin puree
.5 cup xylitol (or less, 1/3 would do it)
.25 cup egg beaters/whites
1 tbsp  cornstarch
1 tsp of vanilla extract
pinch of salt
1.5 tsp of pumpkin pie spice (or 1 tsp cinnamon, pinch of nutmeg, pinch of ginger, pinch of cloves)

Blend cornstarch with almond milk until smooth. Then blend all other ingredients. Add to pie crust of choice OR make it as a pudding in ramekins OR spray an empty pie shell and make a crustless pie. Bake at 350 for 50 to 55 minutes. Voila!

This is very good but, as mentioned above, I think I could use a bit less xylitol next time. Now that I’m not eating sweets I find that things taste sweeter and I don’t need nearly as much. I’d say half a cup is good for those of you with a regular sweet tooth, though.

Leave a Reply

