Raw Vegan Coconut Kefir

If you follow a dairy-free lifestyle, for whatever reason, you must get on the coconut kefir bandwagon!

Strange but true, you can make a dairy free version of kefir. If you’re not familiar with kefir, it has a yummy tangy sour quality that’s similar to yogurt. Generally people who have stopped eating dairy agree that the one thing that they really miss is yogurt, and you can use your water kefir grains to make a delicious yogurty drink or you can thicken it to make yogurt using arrowroot/tapioca starch, guar gum, or xanthum gum… but I’ll leave that to another post.

It took me a while to track down a good source for vegan kefir grains in Canada, but Upaya Naturals is now offering them which is just perfect. This is a great site anyway, so check it out! In the US, the Kefir Lady is your go-to. She’ll take good care of you.

Not only is the kefir great for your tummy flora, it’s delicious to drink on its own but even better, it’s the perfect ingredient to use to make coconut cream cheese… and thus, amazing coconut cheesecake! Check out my blog post for Raw Vegan Key Lime Coconut Kefir Cheesecake. I’ll be adding more coconut cheesecake recipes using coconut kefir as I make them.

Coconut Kefir Recipe

  • Vegan Water Kefir Grains
  • 400 mL of raw coconut milk or 1 can coconut milk (canned coconut milk is not actually raw)
  • 2 to 4 tbsp of coconut sugar or maple syrup
  1. Add ingredients into a glass jar.
  2. Cover with some sort of cloth like cheese cloth or I actually use my nut milk bag. Secure the bag with an elastic band. Place in a warm place. I like to put it on top of my fridge since the fridge puts out some heat. You want to keep it warm so that the good bacteria can grow.
  3. Let it sit for 1 to 5 days. The longer you let it sit, the more tangy the liquid will become. To make make cheesecake, I find 4 days is great.
  4. Once you get the flavour you’re looking for, strain out the kefir grains, secure with a regular lid and keep in the fridge.
  5. If you’re not making another batch of coconut kefir straight away, rinse your grains and let them dry out until you plan to use them again.
11 thoughts on “Raw Vegan Coconut Kefir

  1. Pingback: Raw Vegan Key Lime Coconut Cheesecake « Mandi's Alternative Baking Blog

  2. Thanks, this sounds excellent! I’m vegan and new to the kefir world. Will the water kefir grains propagate if using in just coconut milk or do you have to switch them back to just plain sugar/fruit water? Everything I’ve read online says to only use milk kefir grains with coconut milk, but I really don’t want to have dairy in my diet at all, so am excited to have found this post. Thanks again!

    • Hey, thanks for your post! I was also trying to track down a way to keep this completely vegan and it works. The grains are 100% vegan, and I only used coconut milk, never any dairy whatsoever. I don’t really like how it comes out in water but it’s the same grains that you would use for water. I’ve been using coconut milk with maple syrup as the sugar option for the grains to feed off of and it’s worked smashingly. I dehydrated my grains a couple of weeks ago and have just made my first attempt to reactivate them… I’ll know by tomorrow if it’s worked or not. I hope so! I love using the coconut kefir for the base in my raw vegan coconut cheesecake.

      • Awesome! I just ordered some water kefir from Etsy so will be trying out your recipes hopefully soon! LMK if the reactivation worked. :)

  3. Pingback: Basic Raw Vegan Cheesecake Filling « Mandi's Alternative Baking Blog

  4. Pingback: Raw Vegan Cherry Cheesecake « Mandi's Alternative Baking Blog

  5. I forgot to come back with an update! I dehydrated my grains and then revived them and it worked perfectly.

    One thing I’ve discovered during the hot month of August is to be careful how long you leave the grains in when it’s warm. If you leave them too long, the beverage can start to take on an alcoholic tone. Unless that’s what you’re going for. :)

  6. Pingback: Raw Pumpkin Cheesecake with Orange Toffee Crust « Mandi's Alternative Baking Blog

  7. Hi, I’m excited to try making your recipe. I have ordered the water kefir grains. Do you need to allow the kefir grains to acclimatize after shipping before the coconut kefir can be consumed (i.e. waste a few batches)? Also, how much kefir grains do you use?

Leave a Reply

