Recipe Review: Agave Pecan Pie (sugar-free)

Agave Pecan Pie Recipe Review

This is a review for the Agave Pecan Pie Recipe, as posted on the Madhava Agave Nectar website.

Pecan pie is a tradition in my family. Being hippie Jews, we don’t really celebrate Christmas but we do like to get together and eat. Pecan pie is the mandatory dessert, but this year my father and I have gone off sugar so we needed to find a substitute. I know that we’re not alone in wanting to find a pecan pie recipe without corn syrup! This recipe definitely delivered.

I was very pleased with the outcome. The only thing is that now, my palette is no longer used to such a sweet dessert so I found it to be just a bit too sweet. I’d like to find some way to soften the sweetness so that’s something I’ll play with next time. For the moment, this recipe is excellent.

NOTE ON NUMBER OF SERVINGS: The recipe says that it will make one pie, however I found that it produced enough of the liquid to make one and a half pies. I used the extra liquid and made some more in order to make a second pie, but next time I’ll just plan to make 2 pies straight from the get go and increase the recipe by an additional half, or if I only want to make one pie I’ll reduce it by about a quarter.

Agave Pecan Pie Sugar-Free

OVERALL RATING: I give this a definitely 4 out of 5, and most of the people who shared it would have given it a 4 or a 5. I only gave it a 4 because of that bit of extra sweetness which I’d like to moderate next time, but it really was a very good recipe.

RECIPE: PECAN PIE 

Ingredients: 

2 cups Madhava’s Amber Agave Nectar
3 large eggs
1/3 cup butter, at room temperature
1 ½ cups pecans, broken
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
¼ teaspoon salt
1 uncooked pie crust

Directions:

1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2.  In a dry skillet, roast pecans over medium heat for 5 minutes.  Set aside.

3.  Cook Madhava’s Amber Agave Nectar in pan and gently boil for10 minutes.  Remove from heat.

4.  Beat eggs lightly and gradually pour into the heated agave, beating constantly to prevent eggs from scrambling.

5.  Cut the butter into little chunks and add to the mixture while you are beating the eggs and agave nectar.  Stir in the vanilla extract and salt.

6.  Add roasted pecans to the uncooked pie crust.  Pour mixture over top.

7.  Carefully place your pie in the oven and bake about 30 minutes, then remove, place pie crust shield on it, and return to the oven for another 30 minutes (a total of 1 hour in the oven).

8.  You can test the pie by sticking a knife in the middle.  If the knife comes out clean, the pie is done.  It if comes out dirty, it needs about 10 more minutes in the oven.

9.  Cool pie on a wire rack.

Agave Pecan Pie Recipe Review

4 thoughts on “Recipe Review: Agave Pecan Pie (sugar-free)

  1. I had frozen one of these pies at Christmas… it’s now March 26th and I finally thawed out one quarter to serve as dessert. I was really worried that I had left it in the freezer too long but it was just perfect! Absolutely delicious.

Leave a Reply

